Every March my buddies and I would put a dollar into a pool and pick our winning brackets. As we got older , and lives changed, it became increasingly difficult to get together to pick our brackets.

Much of the fun of the tournament was seeing what teams others picked, showing off your bracket, and talking a little trash about how terrible their picks were.

So in 2001 Matt' was born.

That first year was just a bracket in a simple form and one page showing the rankings. We had a good time viewing each others brackets and following the rankings all on the internet.

We had 15 entries that first year. In 2002 we began using a program called Turbo Tourney for

That year underdog scoring was added, and the word got out about We had 79 entries the second year.

In 2022 the maker of the Turbo Tourney software retired and began using an online service called "Run Your Pool".

In 2024 returned to using the Turbo Tourney software and providing manual updates to the brackets.

Over the years has really become a tradition every March. Many players return the following year in hopes this is the year they will pick the winning bracket.

There are no prizes given at -- other than some major bragging rights.

Let the madness begin...


Matt's Bracket Challenge Champions

2023 Shad Shaw

2022 Steve Geiselman

2021 Steve Letic

2020 Pandemic Lockdown

2019 Adam Milnes

2018 Cindy Shugart

2017 Nancy Baxter

2016 Dean Woods

2015 Sarah Matthews

2014 Carlos Soto

2013 Nate Hansen

2012 Ben Hulin

2011 Kelli Garwood

2010 Eric Glanders

2009 Nathan Porter

2008 Charles Baxter

2007 Rob McClellan

2006 Mark Mundy

2005 Jason Marcuson

2004 Dick Marsh

2003 Vince Beasley

2002 Scott Brosman

2001 Derek Polen

Women's Bracket Champions

2023 Laynie Graham

2022 Matt Patton

2021 Andy Davis

2020 Pandemic Lockdown

2019 Tim Baxter

2018 Brad Laub

2017 Matt Patton

2016 Larry Nutt

2015 Ron Ranta

2014 Randy Graham

2013 Scott Martin

2012 Matt Patton

2011 Andy Davis

2010 Tim Baxter

2009 Scott Martin

2008 Mark Mundy

2007 Garrett Jones

2006 Chad Jeffries

2005 Paul Jones

Matt Norris